John Clark…Sharpie Artist?

Example of sharpie art by John ClarkHis style is simple and dramatic, clean and bold, and absolutely unique.  John Clark, from Ann Arbor, Michigan takes vintage books and overlays portraits on the text, resulting in a one of a kind story-portrait with a literary history. A modern accent to the classics.  He uses sharpie markers to create the portraits, which have been mistaken as Photoshop trickery, but according to John, “it’s just me and my markers”.  “I draw film noir inspired Sharpie portraits on vintage book pages. I leave a bit of text floating in the background to add the hint of a story to the piece. I haven’t seen anyone else do what I do, and I’m very happy about that”. He found inspiration from the language of old mystery novels and the work of comic book and graffiti artists, as well as the artists of classic pulp novel covers.  He has found a successful market for his work using Etsy.  Follow the link to check out a gallery of his work.

4 thoughts on “John Clark…Sharpie Artist?

  1. That is pretty amazing to see it done in that fashion I mostly see work like this done through Photoshop. It’s amazing to see an artist put sharpie marker to use in an interesting manner like this.

  2. I’ve seen a lot of other Sharpie art before, but his is really unique. It’s gritty and raw, and definitely reminds me of film noire and pulp novels. Thanks for sharing!

  3. I really like this artist’s work! The portraits on his Etsy page, which you linked to, look awesome. There’s so much detail, especially considering that he only used black marker, and I like the effect of the text in the background. Thanks for posting this!

Leave a comment